The Happening (A film Review)

By: Brock Lawley

I apologize for the belated review. I should preface this by saying I am a huge M. Night Shyamalan fan. The artistic margin of error I grant him is canyon wide. The village is in my top ten films of all time. The string of cinematic gems he has written and directed is nothing short of remarkable. Along a Hollywood countryside of pure rubbish his imaginative and original films were an oasis at a time when I was one “Brokeback” away from turning my back on Hollywood altogether.

With that being said, it pains me deeply to tell you that The Happening was without question one of the worst films I have ever seen in my life. Putting aside the Al Gore worship propaganda and the “I am greener than you” trend chasing, this story is just awful in an old fashioned pinch your nose and rush to the nearest exit kind of way. I found myself internally tight roping between tears and laughter at the sheer horror that is this film.
Allow me to unravel this plot for you. The green things of this world trees, grass, weeds, etc… are mad at us. The green things proceed to emit a gas that makes people kill themselves – Roll credits – and not a minute to soon I assure you. When this stinker was over I felt like joining a victim support group. Walking out of the theater I heard people literally laughing as they shook their heads in disgust.
After having a short time to ponder over this film my explanation is that M. knight’s greatest filmmaking strength was his separation from Hollywood and the creative inbreeding that has become obvious to so many film fans. It is my opinion that this once Samson-like director has now been sheered like a sheep. His creative locks of hair now lay sacrificed upon the altar of a green gone wild Hollywood faze.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

